2018 Mineral Point Wrestling Banquet

2018 Mineral Point Wrestling Banquet
Wrestlers (left to right) — Riley Workman – Captain, Most Valuable, Most Wins (38), Most Takedowns (67), Most Pins (23); Danny Pittz – Captain, Most Dedicated; Logan Schmitz – Most Near Falls (35), Most Escapes (23); Kyle Vondra – Most Improved; Mitchell Schaaf – Most Reversals (18)


2018 Mineral Point Wrestling Banquet
Scott Graber Award for 8th grade – Trapper Nafzger


2018 Mineral Point Wrestling Banquet
Cheerleaders (left to right) — Simone Fitzsimons – Most Enthusiastic; Paige Goodweiler – Captains, Best Leadership, Best Teamwork/mate; Sierra Evans – Most Dedicated; Josie Lindholm – Captain, Best All Around

Pointers Excel at SWC/SWAL CLASH

Congrats to our #PointerNation podium finishers at the SWC/SWAL CLASH Conference tournament! 2nd place to Danny Pittz, Caden Carey, Logan Schmitz, and Riley Workman. 4th place to Wyatt Evans and Nolan Springer. The Pointers took 7th as a team.

Four Pointers Earn Wrestling All-Conference Honors



  • 106: Brody Lee, Fennimore
  • 113: Gage Updike, Boscobel
  • 120: Mason Lull, Fennimore
  • 126: Danny Pittz, Mineral Point
  • 132: Caden Carey, Mineral Point & Aidan Nutter, Fennimore
  • 138: Kolbe Ubersox, Darlington/Black Hawk & Trevor Wanek, Fennimore
  • 145: Riley Blair, Fennimore
  • 152: Maguire Fitzgerald, Fennimore
  • 160: Will Ahnen, Fennimore & Max Maylor, Iowa-Grant/Highland
  • 170: Tyler Hach, Riverdale
  • 182: Riley Workman, Mineral Point & Brady Peat, Iowa-Grant/Highland
  • 195: Caleb Johnson, Riverdale
  • 220: Drew Hennessey, Iowa-Grant/Highland & Brody Milz, Darlington/Black Hawk
  • 285: Sean Deglow, Riverdale



  • 106: Justice Dilley, Riverdale
  • 113: Luke Blair, Fennimore
  • 120: Alex Zimmer, Iowa-Grant/Highland
  • 126: Paul King, Darlington/Black Hawk
  • 132: Braiden Pickett, Boscobel
  • 138: Dakota Frazier, Boscobel
  • 145: Logan Schmitz, Mineral Point
  • 152: Tanner Bassett, Boscobel
  • 160: Clayton Kite, Iowa-Grant/Highland
  • 170: Chase Beinborn, Boscobel
  • 182: Trevor Neuroth, Fennimore
  • 195: Brayden Leffler, Fennimore
  • 220: Garret Wilmot, Riverdale
  • 285: Francisco Garcia, Cuba City/Southwestern/Benton

Workman Places 5th at State Wrestling

Mineral Point Wrestling was represented at the WIAA State Tournament by Caden Carey, Danny Pittz, Logan Schmitz, and Riley Workman.

The competition was held in Madison at the Kohl Center February 22-24.

Riley Workman placed 5th at 170 lbs.

Wrestling Banquet Awards

Mineral Point Wrestling held its banquet Sunday, March 19 at Dodge-Point Country Club.


Captains: Kyle Juedes, Boone Schmitz, and Riley Workman.

Danny Pittz: Most Wins and Most Valuable; Mitchell Schaaf: Most Reversals; Caden Carey: Most Wins; Lucas Sanchez: Most Escapes; Riley Workman: Most Wins, Most Near falls, and Most Pins; Boone Schmitz: Most Wins, Most Takedowns, and Most Dedicated.

Cheerleaders, left to right: Riese Federman, Most Improved; Catarina Parks, Most Valuable; Simone Fitzsimons: Most Enthusiastic; Sierra Evans: Captain and Most Valuable; Paige Goodweiler: Most Dedicated, Captain, and Best All-Around; Megan Berg: Most Improved; Josie Lindholm: Most Dedicated.

Scott Graber Award: Nolan Springer

2016-17 Varsity Team

Front Row (L-R)
Josie Lindholm, Megan Berg, Simone Fitsimons, Sierra Evans, Paige Goodweiler, Catarina Parks, Riese Federman

Middle Row
Asst Coach Tim Swenson, Austin Heisner, Lucas Sanchez, Boone Schmitz, Logan Schmitz, Karsten Bakken, Mitchell Schaaf, Caden Carey, Daniel Pittz, Wyatt Evans, Manager Madison Bowers

Back Row
Asst Coach Cory Sokol, Head Coach Scott Schmitz, Sawyer Wallace, Grant Sporle, Kyle Juedes, Noah Stanton, Kaleb Pilling, Riley Workman, Grant Rose, Kyle Vondra, Manager Brianna Lange, Manager Maddie Siegenthaler

Scott Schmitz Inducted Into George Martin Hall of Fame

Scott Schmitz

Head Mineral Point wrestling coach Scott Schmitz added another accolade to his already impressive resume when, on November 4, he was inducted into the Wisconsin Wrestling Coaches Association George Martin Hall of Fame.

Joining him were Ben Askren of Wauwatosa, Marty Loy of Stevens Point, John Mesenbrink of Hartland, and Al Poser of La Crosse.

Scott is the district representative for the Wisconsin Wrestling Coaches Association, cadet director for the Wisconsin Wrestling Federation, and a member of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame earning their Lifetime Service Award in 2013. He was elected WWCA Dist. 5 Coach of the Year 1995, 1999, 2002, 2003, 2009, 2010; Wisconsin State Coach of the Year 2002, 2003 and 2009; National Federation High School Coaches Association Sectional Coach of the Year 2003; WWCA Dist. 5 Rep. 1005-present; Junior National Freestyle Coach 1990-1996; WWF Cadet Director 2004-present; Head coach of the first Junior Dual team for the WWF 1994 & 95; and a member of the Al Bauman Mineral Point Wrestling Hall of Fame.

Scott is the middle/high school Physical Education and Health teacher at Mineral Point. Scott earned his bachelor’s degree in Physical Education with a minor in Health from the University of Wisconsin-Platteville and his master’s degree in Administration from Olivet University in Chicago.

Reflecting in an article by Joelle Doye and The Democrat Tribune on the 50th anniversary of Mineral Point wrestling, he said:

“Schmitz said he will never forget being at the conference coaches meeting at the start of his first school year. He was sitting next to a man whom he didn’t know, and who didn’t know him. The man leaned over to Schmitz and said, ‘I wonder who the idiot is they got to take Bauman’s place.’ Schmitz didn’t say anything to the man, but the man quickly realized when Schmitz got up to be introduced as the new Pointer wrestling coach. Schmitz said the mystery man was Doug McArthur from Darlington, and of course since then, the two have become friends and he still has to remind McArthur of that moment from time to time.

Schmitz echoed all of Terrill’s and Bauman’s statements about who should deserve the real credit to keeping the program successful. ‘I came here and took a part time teaching job that was only supposed to last a couple years, but I knew there was nowhere else I wanted to coach. I was never in it for the money…I was in it for the kids,’ said Schmitz.”

As MPHS Wrestler

  • Overall record: 87-24-1
  • Four year letterwinner
  • Conference Champ 1980 and 1981
  • Badger State Champ 1980
  • WIAA Regional Champ 1980 and 1981
  • WIAA Sectional Champ 1980 and 1981
  • WIAA State Individual Champ
    • 1980 Class C 132 lbs.
    • 1981 Class C 132 lbs.
  • WIAA State Overall Champ
    • 1980 132 lbs.
  • WIAA State Team Champ
    • 1980, 1981
  • Team MVP 1980 and 1981
  • Team Captain 1981
  • Wrestled four years at UW-Madison

As MPHS Coach

  • First season as head coach at MPHS 87-88
  • Team Conference Champs — 1988, 1995, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015
  • WIAA Team Regional Champs — 17 times
  • WIAA Team Sectional Champs
    • 1995, 1999, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011
  • WIAA Team State Champs
    • 2002, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009
  • WIAA Team State Runners-Up
    • 2010, 2011
  • WIAA Individual State Qualifiers Coached–128
  • WIAA Individual State Place Winners Coached–95
  • WIAA Individual State Champs Coached–26
    • Mike Weber, 1988; Kevin Kinch, 1994; Clint Hurda, 1996; Jason Mester, 1997; Jason Mester, 1998; Gary Sullivan, 1998; Jason Mester, 1999; Gary Sullivan, 1999; Jake Hanson, 1999; Kolbi McReynolds, 2001; Zach Chambers, 2002; Josh Mester, 2002; Nate Chambers, 2003; Cory Sokol, 2003; Matt Gevelinger, 2005; Curtis Fiedler, 2005; Curtis Fiedler, 2006; Greg Burke, 2006; Greg Burke, 2007; Danny Sullivan, 2007; Cord Yager, 2009; Tucker Pittz, 2010; Dylan Schroeder, 2010; Tucker Pittz, 2011; Deven Walrack, 2012; Robby Chubb, 2013